Be still and know that I am God


https://www.God.bingo

TEXT: Ps. 46:1, 10-11

Psalms 46:1 God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.

Psalms  46:10 Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.

 46:11 The LORD of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah.

WORSHIP

You are the reason I live
You’re the one for me
You’re the one for me
You are the reason I live
You’re the one for me
You’re the one for me

Why should I fear when I have You
Surrounded by your love
Your everlasting love
Why should I care what people say
‘Cause they don’t know
What you mean to me

You are the reason I live
You’re the one for me
You’re the one for me
You are the reason I live
You’re the one for me
You’re the one for me

Why should I fear when I have You
Surrounded by your love
Your everlasting love
Why should I care what people say
They don’t know
What you mean to me

Why should I fear when I have…

INTRODUCTION

We thank God for the privilege to be alive on this last but one day in September 2020.

If it had not been the Lord who has been with us, we would have been consumed long ago by the issues that surround us and circumstances of life.

Please let us give thanks to God, for He is good and His mercy endures forever.

Let us thank Him for we are not just alive, but we are whole and have a hope in Him of a better tomorrow.

BE STILL, ……

To “Be Still” refers to a state of no movement or sound, a state of deep silence and calm, a static position.

In the context of today’s message, it means to surrender our actions/thoughts/plans to God, not to do in a hurry without God, to wait on God for direction, guidance, action etc.

This is a rather difficult thing to suggest in our world of today, post-covid where people are just in a hurry to ‘catch up’ with lost time or afraid/agitating to avoid further losses/extinction.

Therefore, it takes people who know God, to heed this instruction and I pray that God will release upon us the grace to obey in Jesus name.

In 1 Sam. 15, King Saul could not wait for God. He did what was right in his eyes and the people and he paid a heavy price for it.

In Ex. 14:13-14, Moses asked the Israelites to be still and they saw the glory of God.

WHY SHOULD WE BE STILL?

  1. He is God. If He says Be Still then, He must be up to something.
  2. He needs you to express your trust in Him to unfold His plans for you.
  3. Those who know their God shall be strong and do exploits. CASE STUDIES IN THE BIBLE.
  4. The Children of Israel by the Red Sea in Ex. 14.

When the Israelites left Egypt, they thought they were free for good. Then, they came to the Red Sea and could not move further.
Thoughts of death in the wilderness came to them when they heard the chariots and men of war of Egypt racing towards them.
They became agitated, but thank God for Moses who asked them to be still and wait on God. Ex. 14:14.
In the end, God did the miraculous – drowned the Egyptians in the Red Sea while the Israelites crossed over to their destinies.
I pray that God will prove Himself in your life and you will see the end of every battle, challenge of life that is threatening to take your life.

  1. The widow of one of the sons of prophets in 2 Kings 4:1-7.

After the death of her husband, her two sons were her only hope in life. However, because she could not repay the debt of her late husband, the creditors were coming to take her two sons, last hope away in lieu of the debt. She did not take any rash decisions, but waited on God for direction.

Before the creditors returned for her sons, God made a way for her. She paid the debt and lived in abundance thereafter.

I decree that as you wait on the Lord, your day of shame will never come. God will arise for you, lay your ‘debts’ and put those who are waiting to laugh at you to shame in Jesus name.

  1. The widow of Zarephath in 1 Kings 17:8-16

This woman, a widow had been so battered by the circumstances of life that at this point she had only one meal left. She and her son had lost any hope to live long because they were waiting for death after that last meal.
It was the time of famine, they probably had looked for help from their neighbors and no one could help them. They, most likely, had seen some other people die from hunger. So, she was waiting for her turn and rightfully so.
Then the prophet came, and she surrendered to the will of God, she was still. This action led to a massive turnaround for her, as her house became a place where anyone who was starving would come to and be fed through the period of famine.
Your most trusted allies may not be able to help you now, but Godnwill always help you. It is not over for you yet. God will restore your hope. Through this period of famine, you will not lack anything you consider important to live in Jesus name.

  1. The three Hebrew men in Dan. 3:15-28

Shadrach, Meschach and Abednego chose to stand still for God in the face of the king’s threat, loss of their positions and lives.

God joined them in their afflictions. He turned the fiery furnace to a cooler for them; and promoted them in the most unusual manner.

As you stand still for God, you are not alone in your troubles and challenges. God will glorify himself through you in this generation in Jesus name.

COMMONALITIES IN THE CASES CONSIDERED

  1. Time was of essence.
    The people found themselves in situations where a solution must come in time and in all cases, God arrived on time.
    However desperate your situation may be, God will be there for you on time in Jesus name.
  2. God did something new.
    He will do something new for you and your household today in Jesus name.
  3. God restored hope, dignity, glory of His people and gave them a new life. Therefore, I welcome you to your new season, new beginning, new glory in Jesus name. SURRENDER TO HIM

It takes people who have surrendered their lives to God, to be still when the world expects you to keep moving. Please surrender your life to Jesus Christ today.

PRAYER POINTS

  1. Prayer of thanksgiving – thank God for life and the privilege to be His son/daughter.
  2. Father, I know you are never late: please send help to me in time in Jesus name.
  3. Father, please don’t let my day of shame ever come. Instead of shame, please cover me with your glory.
  4. Father, please restore my hope. Please restore your glory upon my life in Jesus name.
  5. Father, as you did for Shadrach, Meschach and Abednego, please glorify yourself in my life. Where the enemies have planned for my demotion, please promote me in Jesus name.
  6. Father, please do a new thing in my life, open a new chapter in my life, household, business, career, the church, our nation etc.
  7. Father, as I wait on you, please prove yourself in my life. Let the world know that you are my God.
  8. Personal prayer requests.

God will hear us in Jesus name.

Leave a Reply